Country Song or Blues or…..

I Can’t Sleep Again
or
My Husband is in Austin Blues
or
10 Pounds of Bat Guano in a 5 Pound Bag

My stomach:
A twisted knot of kimchee, jalapeno sauerkraut.
or
A playground for hyperactive butterflies.

My heart:
A black hole of isolation and despair.
or
A pincushion for railroad spikes.

My mind:
A bowl of mushy over-ripe banana pudding.
or
A blackened Cajun red snapper.

My spirit:
“MOM! I’m tired of going around in circles!”
“Shut up, or I’ll nail your other shoe to the floor.”
or
A dank, moldering cellar.

My world:
The bottom of a compost heap, crawling with worms and insects.
or
A package of crackers the kids used for a hockey puck.

Leave a Reply

