After 9-11, A Prayer for America

Faces of America
strong in their belief
of our kinship
drawn together in
a collective sadness
remembering the lost
who died doing their
daily business
as usual
faces, languages of all
shapes and colors,
more than a blending
of the world
human beings who
believe in the right
to be free and live
the best life they can
create
Americans born into
the ultimate responsibility
the privilege
of living in peace
together
Christian, Muslim, Jew,
Sikh, Buddhist
all faiths
all colors
in a rainbow
of love and acceptance
we’ve shown our children
and the spirits of the
Americans who preserved
freedom before us
That we are worthy of their hope and trust.

17 thoughts on “After 9-11, A Prayer for America

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 46 (June 16-22, 2011) | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

  2. While I wish I could say I believed that America was truly free I can not because I don’t really believe that (I am American btw). I do, however, think its beautiful when people come together in times of need. My step-brother helped clean up after 9-11 he’s a police officer in New York. I do think you’ve written a beautiful tribute.

    • “Freedom” is such a loaded word. I’ve traveled a bit and have seen people who don’t have the freedoms that we do, governmentally, financially, etc. Our country is a work in progress. Each generation has another layer of the onion to peel….stinky work that makes us cry. My dad was a soldier, he cleaned up things I don’t want to think about. Thank you for your thought provoking response.

  3. love this, mind blowing senses,

    Please Check out short story slam week 5,

    write a poem or a story based on the image, link to our week 5 collection of short stories, and have fun!
    Bless your day!
    Hope to see you in,
    Keep your creative juice running,
    BEST!
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

